Elizabeth Kameen awarded the 2022 Margaret Mary Jonas Memorial Scholarship

Elizabeth Kameen, graduating senior from Delaware Valley High School, was awarded the 2022 Margaret Mary Jonas Memorial Scholarship for High School at the DTDC Margaret Mary Jonas Memorial Scholarship Dinner held on Sat., June 11th at the Failte Restaurant. Commissioner Anthony Waldron presented the scholarship and Congressman Matt Cartwright-PA-8th gave the Keynote Address. Ms. Kameen will be attending Moravian University in the Fall.

Incoming Chair, Cheryl R. Glenn, spoke of the 15 year history of the club’s scholarship program and the hope that more students will participate in 2023. Dr. Glenn said, “ We hope to grant all of our scholarships next year. In fact, we will be able to double the number of scholarships awarded”. She also mentioned that Nick Troiano, Executive Director of Unite America and a 2008 Delaware Valley High School Graduate, was the first recipient of the DTDC Scholarship back in 2008.

The DTDC Margaret Mary Jonas Memorial Scholarship program is comprised of the High Scholarship award of $500, and the Moving Up Scholarships: the Middle School scholarship award of $250 and the Primary and Elementary Schools awarding $50 and $75 respectively. The main focus of these scholarships is to help parents and graduating HS students defray some of the cost of books and materials.

We congratulate Ms. Kameen on her achievements and wish her the very best going forward.

Anyone wishing to donate to the club’s scholarship program may call 570-291-7833 or visit our website at www.DelawareTwpDemocrats.org . Also, watch our website for announcements regarding the 16th Annual Margaret Mary Jonas Memorial Scholarships for 2023.